Posted by: Judy | May 22, 2014

For one day…

I thought about doing this as one of my goals to add at the beginning of the month, but at this point, I fear I’ll fail miserably. I don’t want to set myself up to fail, so I’m going to make the attempt for one day.

Not long ago, I posted that I was working on eating healthier. A friend gave me her handout on the O+ blood diet. There’s the theory that those with a specific blood type do better on some foods than others. For myself, I’ve never quite bought into something so specific. However, I figured it couldn’t hurt.

I cut ham from my diet and replaced it with more lean beef, chicken, and turkey. I don’t follow it exactly. Blackberries are something I’m “supposed” to avoid. I don’t think so.

I’m not actually losing weight, but neither am I gaining weight. More importantly, I actually feel full all the time. Really. It’s… unexpected. It also isn’t the point of this post.

Yesterday, I did something huge. I removed the physical therapy sheets I had taped to my mirror. They were taped right in the middle of the mirror, 8×11 sheets of paper.

I avoid mirrors. I hate mirrors. The reflection of the scarred face, wrinkled neck, dumpy body…

Yeah. It’s like that.

I’ve read about other bloggers doing this recently, and thought, “Oh, I couldn’t.”

Time to shut up and buck up.

Today, I will look in the mirror and think/say “I love my body.” *snort*

To help me in this effort are the following observations: My body has put up with a lot of abuse, dished out and self-inflicted, for over 50 years and keeps going. My body carries almost 90 lb more than it should, every day, all day, year in and year out. Despite the abuse, my body patiently repairs itself, again and again and again. My body takes me for lovely walks in the sunshine and the rain, on cloudy days and along the beach. My body enjoys yummy food. My body has attended conferences and small gatherings. My body has taken me half way around the world both ways. My body saw me through a summer in Yellowstone, 16 months in Thailand, a summer in England with a hop to Holland and France, around the country on various trips, and through every single day without fail. My body makes it possible for me to write stories, read books, and visit with friends. My body allowed me to cuddle my dog and ride my horse, clean my fury children, feed them, and care for them, even to share their last breath with them. My body has played the piano, created clothes, sewn quilts, learned calligraphy, and cook. Though my body can’t dance anymore, it remembers the energy of a fast well-executed swing dance, the fun of square dancing, the fluid grace of the waltz, and the gentle sway of a slow song. My body has climbed the steps of the Eiffel Tower, to the top of the dome of St. Paul’s Cathedral, Wat Arun, mountains, castles, and palaces. My body has ridden in a speedboat, buses, trains, a Lamborghini, trolley, subway, double decker bus, British taxi, paddleboat, canoe, rowboat, cable car, wagon, and the ferry crossing from Calais back to England so I could see the awe-inspiring white cliffs of Dover. My body has eaten curried chickens’ feet, pigs ear, rice and mangos with coconut milk, ngoc, crumpets, Yorkshire pudding (which isn’t pudding), fish and chips, Italian cooked by an Italian who knows how to cook, bread hot from the oven with homemade jam, freshly caught trout fried in butter over an open fire, cake cooked in an orange rind, corn fresh out of the garden good enough to eat raw, grapes I picked from the vine, broccoli and squash I planted, tomatoes I cultivated, strawberries I nurtured, and so much more. My body has cooked six-course French gourmet meals and enjoyed delicious meals with amazing, wonderful people. My body is scarred and imperfect, but it is truly awesome. I love my body.


Responses

  1. This is beautiful as are you. xx

    • ((TR))

  2. There’s some lyrics in the song “Carry On” by fun. that I thought of reading this. They go:
    Oh my head is on fire, but my legs are fine… after all they are mine.

    My first personal trainer knew so,some who did the blood type diet with success. I thought about trying it because I have bad skin and it might help with acne flare ups.

    I know a runner who has been using apple cider vinegar to help with weight loss. He’s been using it a few months and lost about 15 lbs doing nothing else different but having two tablespoons (mixed with water) of unfiltered apple cider vinegar twice a day. Actually, I started taking it before my harder workouts because it is supposed to help reduce inflammation and help with stomach troubles. It seems to work (although I can’t say if that’s placebo or not to be honest… It does no harm). Anyway, it’s a cheap, easy thing to try if you think you might be alright with it.

    I hear you about mirrors. I avoid them too, partly because I see my mother in the mirror and partly because of the aforementioned bad skin. At the gym, I’ve told my trainers I’d rather not face the mirrors unless I need to check my form. They just shake their heads at me, but don’t give me crap about it.

    Hugs.

    • I’ve only been sort of following the guidelines for a week, and I’m amazed at how much better I feel. Like you, I’m not sure if it’s a placebo effect. I’m already used to catering to my food allergies. This list simply gave me the opportunity to consider other food choices.

      I’ve also looked into the apple cider vinegar. However, I read several places that advised not using it if you have urinary tract trouble because the vinegar changes the pH balance. I’m very good about drinking 6-8 cups of water a day, without fail. It’s made a difference.

      Ack! I hate gyms because of the mirrors! 🙄 So far, today, so good.

      ((Pandora Viltis))

  3. Hugs, I love this. Thanks….explains why I didn’t write my food post last night. I planning to add this as a link.

    • 😉 ((Ruth))

  4. Wow! What an exciting life you’ve led! And you have so many talents.

    • I’m blessed. Sometimes I forget in all the chaos.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories