Posted by: Judy | July 8, 2019

Mario Romero on TNQ

I gave up on math, long ago. Listening to Mario Romero talk about his struggle, I’m not sure I want to tackle math, but what other things am I selling myself short on learning?

https://teamneverquit.com/podcast/mario-romero/

The fact I’m an author is really pretty amazing considering I’m dyslexic. I still have to use bed to help me keep b and d straight. I don’t know a trick for helping me keep straight b and d with p and q and g. Words are easier to correct within context.

No context exists to correct me if I trade or flip numbers. Yes, I’ve written 6 for 9 and 9 for 6. I had to teach myself that E and 3 are turned opposite ways. However, 5 and S are turned the same way, unlike Z. I’m completely lost if I read one number and write something completely different; 365 days a year can end up 472 or something else as nonsensical.

How I managed to survive as a transcriptionist, which required counting lines, is still a mystery to me, mostly. I also had to type in drug amounts prescribed, and it had to be perfect. I would type everything and then listen to the tape again to be sure everything was right. I remind myself that God is merciful. Everything good in my life is by God’s grace. Blessedly, He is also able to turn what someone meant for evil for my good.

I like to think of how Joseph, in the Old Testament, was sold into Egypt by his brothers. Because he was there, he was in the right place at the right time to interpret Pharaoh’s dream. Because Joseph interpreted it correctly, Pharaoh placed him in a position of power. Because Joseph was in a position of power, he was able to save his family from starvation.

I’m no Joseph, but God is aware of me and has a plan for me. God places people, events, things in my path to help me, guide me, inspire me, direct me. Maybe it’s time for me to look at a few things in my life differently.

I told my sister about how Mario learned math by plastering his walls with it. I’m not really interested in learning math. My sister muttered, “Chapter 36.” Bullseye! I’m frustrated with myself in my rewrites. I’ve slowed to a page every few days. I can’t plaster it on all my walls. However, Horse Addict provided that new perspective I was searching for: Spiraling. Thank you, Anne Leueen

https://horseaddict.net/2019/07/07/the-back-to-basics-spiral/

The reason I’m taking so long is that I’m going back to basics, but I’m now applying everything I’ve learned in the last seven years. It’s slow going, but I am going, bit by bit.

Added bonus: Mario Romero loves Lord of the Rings. 🙂


Responses

  1. “Going back to basics” is a great message here–thank you. It’s just what I needed to start my work week. Cheers!

    • Go you! 🙂

  2. Welcome to the spiral. All the best with your journeys on the spiral.

    • Thank you! ❤


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories