Posted by: Judy | June 27, 2014

Update on being happy…

It’s been a difficult year so far. Really difficult.

Remember I made “Happy” my word for the year? Talk about throwing down a challenge.

I could have thrown in the towel and called it quits. Quitting would be so easy.

This week I’ve been working on waking up and choosing to be happy no matter how lousy the day becomes.

I did not expect to discover it was easier to be happy if I said something along the lines of “I’m happy. Darn it. No one can stop me.” The occasional raspberry also helps. That would be pfft or 😛 🙄

A sense of humor is absolutely invaluable in surviving abuse.

Faking being happy is not the same thing as working to be happy.

I didn’t realize there was a difference, until this year.

I’m working to be happy.


Responses

  1. Fake it until you make it takes you on a detour that you miss it completely.

    • Yes! A detour! That’s it exactly! Thanks, Ruth.

  2. Although some very helpful and accurate truth is buried in the idea of “working to be happy”, my initial reaction was to both laugh at the idea, and also frown just a bit on the inside that some of us actually have to work at it.

    Yes, some of us actually have to learn the skill of being happy, just as other folks might have to learn a new language. Obviously, for some of us, “happy” IS a new language. Just as with any new language, we can only hope to become fluent if we practice, practice, practice, in the hopes that it might become automatic and second nature to us, giving us the chance to truly live a life sprinkled with an abundance of happy.

    I love it when your posts really make me think. You might even say it makes me happy. 🙂

    • You’re welcome. 🙂

      I like your example of learning a new language. Having done that your example makes sense. It also means if I want to keep it I have to keep using it.

      Happy I could help you in your pursuit of happiness. 😉

  3. Well said

    • 🙂


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories