Posted by: Judy | April 23, 2024

Keep Cooler Tips repeat and more

I posted this last year but have added a few new tips:

Summer is coming. I live in the desert. Anything to help reduce my electric bill, within reason, is worth considering.

Car cover. I knew it kept the car cooler, but I discovered something else. I was out one evening with an appointment the following morning, so I didn’t cover my car overnight. When the sun comes up, there’s a short space of time when it shines between the neighbors’ house and my carport roof. The sun shining on the car’s windshield, for even that short time, heated the whole space. Mine is a gray, water resistant cover. Though it’s a shiny gray, it’s nothing like the glass.

Hint from my power company: Only turn on fans if you’re in the room. The difference is the feel on your skin. It makes no difference to the furniture. However, a fan makes a difference in the humidity.

Black out curtains. Dark colors are more effective than light colors. Drawback: can’t see outside and doesn’t let light in either, choosing between light and cooler temps in the house. I use battery operated candles if I want light, along with nightlights, and I have a skylight in my kitchen that provides enough light during the day. I’ve added my solar powered lamp, carried by a bunny, outside during the day to recharge and inside after dark; the lamp only lasts about 8 hours.

Those reflective heat blankets that keep heat in and cool out and vice versa? Yes, I’ve hung them at most of my windows. The blinds hide it from the outside, and my black out curtains hide it from the inside. Another barrier.

Cardboard works better if white paper is affixed to the side facing the window. I use gift wrap for a fun change in the look, not that you can usually see them through the black shades covering the windows.

About the skylight, my windows have black shades on the outside. A box black shade was made for the skylight. Yes, I questioned the black color, but the sand colored shades don’t offer as much privacy from people looking in.

Film covering for your windows. I used a lily stained-glass film that is affixed to the glass with water. Can’t see out of it either. However, I used it on windows I don’t look out anyway, like the master bath, the window over the front door, and the glass on my “screen” doors. It is pretty.

Double pane windows make a difference.

Be aware that fans increase dehydration quicker. I need to remember to up my water intake. It’s better to drink a half cup every 30-45 minutes than 1 cup every hour, at least for me.

Changing routines to better suit the weather. We’ll see how it goes.

I’m also keeping track of first and last day using A/C and heater on my calendar. This helps me have a better idea of when I need it and how to budget my electricity. Turned on at 82 for the first time on 19 April when it hit 91 degrees for the high.

Summer is coming. Good luck.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories