Posted by: Judy | July 28, 2015

Gratitude and perspective…

Yesterday’s message by Joyce Meyer was about gratitude. She was severely abused by her father, and her mother allowed it. Her first happy memory was in her 20s. These are some of the quotes I wrote down:

I didn’t have a great beginning, but I’m having a great finish.

Be purposefully grateful.

You can rip the devil to shreds by being faithful.

Gratitude adds power; complaining adds weakness.

I’ve been working on being more grateful, and this reinforced what I’m learning. Then I saw that Joel Runyon had a new post available:

http://impossiblehq.com/why-you-feel-like-crap/

Wishful thinking is unproductive and actually pretty useless if you don’t do the work to make it real. I understand I need to make changes. I do. I’m working to make those changes. I mess up, a lot. One of these days, I’m going to get it right.

A couple hours later, I read the post over at Adventures in Spiritual Living: https://adventuresinspiritualliving.wordpress.com/2015/07/27/through-a-hard-place-to-the-good/

Yes, God, I’m listening. Thanks for all the messages.

Responses

  1. Beautiful. Thanks for the links. New blog to follow. 🙂

    • You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Judy, for this good reminder about gratitude. That’s why I love the Christian life. It’s a process of constantly refining, of messing it up, of accepting God’s grace, and of moving forward in the light of that grace. I’m soooo grateful that we don’t have to be defined by who we were, but by who we are becoming!

    • Amen. Fan girl moment: I’m enjoying “The Old Fashioned Way.” 🙂

  3. You get it right. You do. Every moment is different, and perfect, and you step into it. And like like what Ginger said, that we don’t have to be defined by who we are, but by who we are becoming.

    • Thank you, Marie. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

