Posted by: Judy | January 28, 2013

Gut check… or reality check, if you prefer…

I have on my schedule for the 14th of February 100 wonderful things about myself. This originated from a post by lifebegins45.

I haven’t started it. I thought I might do it all at once. And then I thought I’d break it into 10 posts of 10 each.

Now, I sit here and wonder how in the world I’m going to do this.

Yesterday, on Adventures of Kat, she asked “What do you love about yourself?”

My mind went completely blank.

The old negative tape is a lot quieter and more intermittent but not gone.

I am making positive changes.

So, why do I feel… not quite there… a shadow… a wallflower…

I know my dear friends would be happy to fill in all the blanks for me, but I realize it isn’t the point of the exercise. What do I see?


Responses

  1. I’ve always had a hard time with any similar question, and sometimes I have to start from a place of what I don’t like about myself, which, if I’ve been doing the work, leads me to a place of what I’ve improved on, but then again, we shouldn’t have to try so hard to find things to love about ourselves.

    ten lists of ten things sounds doable … since you’ve expressed that the whole point of the exercise is for you to fill in the blanks, I’d say just begin with one, and keep moving forward. 🙂

    • I thought about starting with 1 and came up blank… it’s one of those kinds of weeks. Maybe I’ll start on Feb. 14th with one…

  2. People scribbled horrible things all over our self mirrors. Cleaning it off is difficult but not impossible. I am starting with things that I do. However, I never have finished the project of sharing who I am not what I do. We were defined by what we did not who we were. We were treated as interchangeable. When I moved out they expected you to step in and take over what I did. Hugs. I can think of many things for you but like you said the exercise is what you see. Hugs.

    • Just when you think it’s scrubbed off, it comes back, like a streak on the mirror… hmmm… maybe because they’re still marking on the mirror…

  3. don’t feel bad about not beginning. I haven’t either. Call me the queen of the procrastinators 😀 Actually, it’s difficult to do, but I believe it’ll become easier once we start! ntexas99 is on to the right idea…smaller goals lead to the ability to conquer the larger ones… Lets start with 10 and see where it leads.

    • I’m thinking I may try starting with 1…

      • The important thing is starting 😀 I could tell you what a beautiful soul you are, but it can’t be something from others. Either way, I mean it! Hugs sweety!

        • ((lifebegins45))

  4. You are kind. You love animals(which is sadly not true for all people). You are a very good listener and a good friend to your friends. You are a good cook. You write very well.

    • ((Mary))


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories