Posted by: Judy | January 16, 2012

Chapter 9

This is one of my favorite chapters. It is so huge. I’m able to reflect on my life since I embraced this chapter, and am astonished at the changes that have occurred.

In no way is it easy. It’s painful. There are obstacles. It’s easy to slip back into the old habits. It not only makes me uncomfortable, but it makes those around me uncomfortable, if they’re accustomed to the lies.

There are those who expect the lies, and it’s going to be ugly because they expect the lies to continue. Then there are those who simply haven’t known anything else. They’ll be shocked and won’t know what to do with the truth. They may choose to continue to believe the lies, or they may choose to accept the truth.

In either case, it isn’t my responsibility to convince anyone. My responsibility is to hold to the truth, not for them, for me.

It is amazing what fits into my life now. I had no idea the lies were taking up so much room, although I don’t know why I didn’t realize. With lies, you not only have to make room for the original lies, but you have to give space to all the subsequent lies, and the lies that follow after those lies. The immense volume lies gobble up in your head is staggering. Empty out the lies, and to be honest, at first it is terrifying having all that extra room. If you leave those places empty, the lies will walk right back in and take over, so it’s important to start filling them with the truth.

Truth doesn’t take up much space. What it gives you is room to grow in the most amazing ways. So, stop lying and give yourself the opportunity to step into the adventure of a lifetime.


Responses

  1. The one you always tell me, “The truth will make you free, but first it will make you really miserable.”

    • Yes, it will, and it’s in there. 🙂


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories