Posted by: Judy | June 22, 2017

New habits…

…will they last?

I walk six days a week. Short on Tuesday and Wednesday. Long on Friday, and longer on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday.

Upped my physical therapy reps by 1, from 2 to 3, three days a week.

Added Jell-O.

Working to learn to use what I have, which means being creative.

Using more coconut oil and less butter.

Going to bed earlier.

Watching less television, especially mindless watching. If I’m not interested, I turn it off.

More creative use for some of my extra beauty products. Lip salve is helpful on extra dry hands, then lotion overall. Lasts longer.

Using up beauty products, like lip gloss. They’re a favorite freebie at conferences, so I have A LOT.

I eat a good breakfast and then wait to eat lunch until I’m hungry. I only eat a few small things, like a bit of Jell-o, some cottage cheese, a PopTart, a cup of milk, enough to keep me happy until a good dinner.

Single-serving bags of popcorn may be expensive comparatively speaking, but they work well for me. I don’t have one every day, but it’s a great evening snack.

Purchased new spill-proof water bottles. Tougher to find than I expected. No more worrying about spilling water around my computer and modem.

New perspective on eating: Food is calories. Yummy calories or not so yummy calories. If I’m going to spend calories, make them worthwhile. I don’t actually count, but I am mindful. If I’m going to eat it, my body’s going to have to do something with it. Funnily enough, I’ve never cared for thinking of food as fuel. That always sounded so joyless to me. Thinking of food as calories sounds more pleasant. Mind games. I know.

It’s going to be an interesting summer.

Responses

  1. The battle of weight control is a mind game. Hugs. Progress not perfection.

    • Making progress. πŸ™‚

  2. I really should be doing what you are doing. It really is hard to change habits. It can be done though, so keep up the good work!

    • It’s only taken a few decades to figure things out. I figure it’s time. πŸ˜€ Thank for the encouragement. πŸ™‚

  3. I love the idea of using things up! It’s so freeing. It’s embracing the bounty instead of the fear of not having enough. It will come.

    • Yes! I’ve spend a great deal of my life worrying about “enough.” Thanks for pointing out I’m making progress. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

