Posted by: Judy | June 12, 2017

Trying out Saved and Blessed University…

I recently started following the Saved and Blessed Blog. I think it’s a God thing. My last counselor advised I find a life coach. I’ve tried other coaching type blogs and e-mails. They didn’t fit me. Mostly, they go too fast for me or I simply can’t afford them. Last week, this was posted:

https://savedandblessedblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/07/your-thoughts-become-your-habits-part-a/

I read through and answered the questions. The Sunday School answer to who I am is that I am a child of God. True but not what I struggle with, outside of normal mistakes and flaws. Working on it. I’m a writer, and I want to be a successful writer.

What does success look like to me? I’m able to live on my income, a home, transportation, pay my bills.

However, it really isn’t my focus right now. I’m struggling to learn the ropes of being a caregiver. My dad is pretty independent, but there are a lot of little things I take care of, cleaning the house, helping with some of his meals, making sure important things aren’t forgotten. This and that. Being a caregiver doesn’t take away my need to write.

Finding a Bible verse that will help me focus on being a writer wasn’t easy. I searched for a verse that fit and thought I found one but it kept slipping my mind. What came to mind was “lean not on your own understanding,” so I hunted down the verse.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.

These verses fit where I am right now on a number of levels, writing, being a caregiver, weight… okay, pretty much everything in my life.

Trust in the Lord is not easy for me. Trust isn’t easy for me. Trust is difficult. I’m learning to trust, but I’m not great at it. Trusting with all my heart is a challenge in and of itself. It isn’t easy, but it isn’t impossible.

One of my weaknesses is trusting my own understanding. It was a weakness, in that I didn’t, but then I stopped lying. I’ve worked hard to trust myself. In truth, God helped me take a weakness and build it into a strength. Within that strength is the weakness inherent in pride. I need to trust myself but also keep in the forefront of my brain that I’m fallible.

It’s like my struggle with prayer. I made it a last resort when it should be a frontline defense. Trusting myself is important, but trusting God should be my frontline defense.

Acknowledging God in everything is something I try to do. Again, acknowledging Him as an aside rather than first is a long-held habit I’m working to change. Choosing this scripture as my focus will help me change.

I’m counting on Him directing my paths. I’ve had times in my life where He has, and it’s amazing. I need to remind myself that I will fail, but I will also pick myself up, dust myself off, and give it a go again and again.

Responses

  1. I have always shied away from life coaches. I have found, in meeting many through either work or social life, that they don’t tend to be much wiser than I am. Full of advice? Oh yes. But lacking wisdom. I feel your pain . . .

    • This is what I’m liking about Saved and Blessed: It’s a blog, so I can set my own pace and tailor the information to me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

