Posted by: Judy | May 8, 2017

Planning Ahead

Mother’s Day is coming.

I’m not going to pretend that it doesn’t bother me.

Last year, I started my preparations for making it through too late. I forget how stressful the week before is.

Last year, I enjoyed taking care of the BiL’s dog. I watched the movie “Secretariat.” Wow. I remember those races, and I cried through the movie.

I endeavored to be pro-active, choosing things to do. I should have also planned things to not do.

I plan on having my mentor over for lunch on Friday.

Avoid FB and blogs on Saturday and Sunday. I won’t be able to avoid them completely, but I can limit my time significantly, including scheduling some posts so I can zip in and out faster.

Enjoy a quiet day at home on Sunday. Give myself permission to retreat and rest and not beat myself up for wanting to ignore a made-up holiday to sell more cards and flowers.

Responses

  1. Judy, I want to share something with you. My mother is dead. She passed away several years ago, I was very young. I have positive and negative memories of her. She was very stern and I didn’t need the sternness. That was a mistake on her part. I had difficulty with Mother’s Day for a long time and then one year I got this idea. I decided to give small gifts and cards to single mothers. It didn’t need to be much, just something that let them know someone cared and was thinking of them. That little bit helped a lot. Just thought I’d share this with you. Have a great day. 🙂

    • What a lovely way to celebrate. This gives me an idea for a friend who recently divorced. Thank you!

  2. I noticed the same thing, avoid Facebook.

    • It’s already started. My 13-minute timer is coming in handy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

