Posted by: Judy | April 27, 2017

Reading List 2

The last list was well received, so continuing with the next 20 books:

21. Far Above Rubies by George MacDonald is a love story. Born 10 December 1824, in Scotland, he passed away 18 September 1905, in England. As I read, I felt touched by a kindred spirit and couldn’t help but wonder if we somewhere share the same family line. Reading his book was like coming home, finding a bit of myself in his words.

22. The Wonder of His Love  (Fostered by Love Book 1) by Kimberly Rae Jordan Christian contemporary romance.

23. The Sweetness of Her Love  (Fostered by Love Book 2 in Frosting and Flurries box set) by Kimberly Rae Jordan Christian contemporary romance.

24. Moostletoe (Moose Creek Book 1 in Frosting and Flurries box set) by Jan Elder inspirational contemporary romance.

25. The Hector Clause (in Frosting and Flurries box set) by Clare Revell Christian contemporary romance. Delightful.

26. Whiskey River Rescue (Whiskey River series includes books by other authors) by Justine Davis is a contemporary romance. She does have bedroom scenes in her books. I love her characters and her stories. This is her newest release. I’m steadily buying her backlist.

27. A Lesson in Love! (The Macleans series Book 3) by Autumn Macarthur contemporary Christian romance. This one hit close to the heart on so many levels. I’m also looking forward to the fourth and last book in this series.

28. Twist of Fate (Holiday Romance novella) by Rachael Anderson contemporary Christian romance. Delightfully fun read.

29. The Princess and Curdie by George MacDonald fiction. My second read by GM. He’s a remarkable storyteller. His descriptions are poetic and absolutely captivating. He’s definitely a must read for me.

30. A Warrior’s Faith: Navy SEAL Ryan Job by Robert Vera, a biography. It’s funny, heartbreaking, and uplifting. I underlined and starred bits that touched my soul. This made me laugh:

Ryan was proud of his slow and steady, “deliberate” pace. He once told me that he had the speed of an narcoleptic sloth.

It also told me that though Ryan didn’t fit the “ideal” SEAL in body, he did in spirit, and in the end that’s all that mattered. A keeper.

31. The Wrangler’s Bride (Fortune’s Children series Book 10) by Justine Davis contemporary romance. Justine Davis is one of many authors involved in this series. I’m not a fan of the other authors, but I love Justine’s stories. She did a pretty good job of recapping other stories so I didn’t feel too lost. There are a couple of intense lovemaking scenes.

32. The Trident: The Forging and Reforging of a Navy SEAL Leader by Jason Redman with John R. Bruning. It isn’t an easy read, but what Jason went through wasn’t easy. I had trouble putting the book down to sleep. To me, it was a romance story, the romance of a man and his career balanced with a woman with him he fit perfectly. Inspiring. I’m glad I read A Warrior’s Faith, first. No, they are not purposely connected. However, Jason Redman and Ryan Job did know each other and both of them mentioned the other in their book. Small world.

33. Power of the Matchmaker by Karen White is a short story that is the opening to a series of stories about a Chinese matchmaker.

34. Misfortune’s Fortune by Kandi Jaynes contemporary romance. This is her fourth book, and she’s on my Must Buy List.

35. Spurgeon Gems by Charles Spurgeon (1834-1892) quotes from various sermons. I’d like some of his work in paperback.

36. An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House series Book 3, not including the e-novella) by Kristi Ann Hunter Christian Regency romance. I love this series! I was surprised by the number of reviews that complained about the wedding night. It didn’t follow the usual Christian romance pattern and stop at the bedroom door, but it wasn’t explicit or even particularly detailed either. I’ve seen commercials more explicit. The scene is important in the story because of the innocence of both characters. I thought the writer did an admirable job of depicting the pitfalls and struggles regarding that aspect of being newlyweds. This book was a little slow to start but I once again found myself unable to put it down until the end.

37. Growing Your Own Indoor Organic Vegetable Garden by Jennifer Henson non-fiction, short, good starting point for growing an indoor garden.

38. A Handful of Flowers (The Callaghans and McFaddens Book 0) by Kimberly Rae Jordan Christian Contemporary romance, sort of a prequel to the C and M series. Only three of the books are out, so I’m going to read one of her other series first. I like reading her books one after the other.

39. A Little Bit of Love: A Collection of Christian Romance Short Stories by Kimberly Rae Jordan, enjoyable short reads.

40. Home Is Where the Heart Is (Home to Collingsworth Book 1) by Kimberly Rae Jordan Contemporary Christian romance. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

Categories

