Posted by: Judy | April 26, 2017

Change

I freely admit I want to change. I’ve often stated I want to improve. I want to be different than I was and different than how I was trained. I know I want to be a better person. I know when I’ve failed, but it’s more difficult for me to decide if I’ve succeeded. Sometimes, it’s so obvious I essentially stumble over it. As I leave the darkness of the past behind, see my path more clearly. I also see that I’m still living day to day. The change is that I’m doing it more happily. I often joke about wanting to be people I admire when I grow up. It’s past time to stop joking. I know this, but now what?

God sent and answer: https://confessionsofanidiot.com/2017/04/20/lead-with-your-actions-not-your-mouth/

Though the post is about leadership, in terms of leading others, I’ve come to recognize I need to lead myself before I think about leading anyone else. Yes, I endeavor to follow Jesus, but Jesus doesn’t make my decisions for me. He set the example to guide me in my choices, but I make the choices. I have the final say; the leader has the final say, which also means they accept the responsibility for the ensuing consequences.

I was taught to be aware of my appearance in terms of snagging an appropriate spouse. I never considered how my appearance reflects how I feel about myself. Do I respect myself? Do I value myself?

Motivating Daily added a good quote: https://motivatingdaily.com/2017/04/21/preparation-is-key-3/

One important key to success is self-confidence. An important key to self-confidence is preparation. ~Arthur Ashe

Being a leader for someone else or myself requires I prepare. I’ve looked for mentors, of a sort. I’m realizing my close friends now are people I not only enjoy being with but people I want to learn from. I like the idea of being more like them.

Continuing on as I have in the past does not serve me anymore. I’m not so much interested in living a long time as I am living a little more pain free, a little more able to do the things I want to do. My health changes aren’t about being what the world thinks I should be but about me being better able to do the things I want to do. When I’m overtired, feeling lousy, etc, all the things I want to do are compromised.

I’m more aware of what I’m wearing.

Adequate sleep helps my thinking be less fuzzy.

My exercise helps my body do what I need to do, like run errands without needing a nap or at least resting.

Eating healthy helps my insides feel better and not distract me by being sick.

Wearing nice clothes, a little makeup, brushing my hair, all help me feel like I’m taking care of myself.

I don’t have to be model gorgeous. Growing up with parents that put a great deal of stock in appearances, this truly never occurred to me. Again, I don’t need to be model gorgeous. A genuine smile goes a long way. I’m discovering, to my shock, that being dressed-to-the-nines doesn’t matter nearly as much as being dressed nicely and appropriately and looking like I cared enough to take the time to make an effort. I haven’t mastered it yet, but I’m learning.

Responses

  1. A genuine smile does go along way.

    • Yes, it does! Good reminder. 🙂

  2. Nice one…

    • Thank you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

