Posted by: Judy | April 24, 2017

Boundaries…

How exciting to realize I’m ready to move on from setting healthy boundaries against things that are bad for me (not that I’m in any way perfect at it) to setting boundaries on good things.

I watched Priscilla Shirer’s blog video on setting boundaries on good things. She gave the example of her son eating pizza until he was sick. It wasn’t that the pizza was bad, but he’d over-indulged.

How many good things do I over-indulge? Food is an obvious one. Sometimes, I spend too much time on social media. Sometimes, I spend too much time idly watching television. Sometimes, I spend too much time reading. All these things are interfering with my writing, what I have been called to do.

One of my goals, once (frequently repeated), was to set a timer for my writing. Maybe I’ve turned it all backwards. Maybe, I needed to set a time for all the things I do except writing.

I wrote the above on Monday. I experimented with setting the timer and found it successful. Tuesday was busy, and I never had a chance to use the timer. In fact, the rest of the week pretty much fell apart as I spent each day attempting to deal with whatever came up. It wasn’t horrible or even really putting out fires; it was simply trying to keep up with everything that happened in the day.

However, on the days I use the timer, I did spend time on my writing. Using the timer keeps me from becoming lost in social media or something else for an hour or two or three. Practice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

