Posted by: Judy | April 12, 2017

Taming My Sleep Dragon

This is the second of the three dragons I’m tackling, for now. In my battle to take care of me, I’m learning to like myself. Truth be told, I like who I am now. I want to make changes to improve my health so I’m better able to do what I need to do, what God needs me to do.

I recently re-read a post from “Motivating Daily, which was part of the inspiration to improve my health:

Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live. ~ Jim Rohn

Sleep is improving. Some nights are better than others. My new bedtime routine is making a difference. I sleep for four hours straight more often. With a nap in the middle of the day, usually because I cannot keep my eyes open any longer, helps me reach the “ideal” 7-1/4 hours sleep.

Bedtime routines are important; a signal to the body that it’s time to sleep helps the brain to slow down. A drop of cedar wood oil behind the headboard is first. I have a sip of water and put on a bit of Burt’s Bees lip balm. I use a Burt’s Bees marshmallow blend on the dry patches of my face and neck (eyebrows and a spot on the back of my neck). Three or four drops of fractionated coconut oil and two drops of DoTerra’s AromaTouch are blended on my palms and rubbed on my feet. A drop of Serenity is brushed on my forehead, down my nose, and on my hands. Then I finish with Burt’s Bees Body Lotion on my hands, keeps the weird rash on my hands under control. The sensitive skin formula works a little better than the dry skin formula.

All those lap blankets I collected are perfect covers, light, soft, and warm. I use a couple of them, one to cover the lower half of my body, another to cover the upper half (sometimes one is cold while the other isn’t), and one to cover my pillow. Soft is a significant factor for me.

I have two alarm clocks. If I only use the one that beeps, I tend to wake right before it goes off. Unfortunately, I startle awake. I hate beeping. I prefer my stereo alarm clock that turns on K-LOVE. I enjoy waking up to Christian music.

I’ve also made it a habit to turn off my phone at night.

At this point, I sleep not to feel rested, because I can’t remember the last time I felt that, but because I know my body needs it in order to do necessary repairs. The body best repairs itself when you’re sleeping. I suppose it’s sort of like shutting down roads for repairs. It’s difficult to repair a hole in the road if cars keep driving over it. Make life easier for my body’s maintenance team; shut down all the stuff I need when I’m awake and let the little workers do their repair jobs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

