Posted by: Judy | February 8, 2017

Meme Debunking

It’s actually a series of memes all about how the world would be a better place if we all chose kindness or respect.

Well, duh.

Why has this pricked my ire?

People who refuse to see you has a human being are not kind or respectful.

People who abuse you are not kind or respectful.

People who think they’re more important than you are not kind or respectful.

People who lie to you are not kind or respectful.

The problem with these memes is that it assumes everyone is on the same page. Never assume. They ignore the simple fact that evil exists in the world and some people truly do choose it. Some people take pleasure in causing pain. It’s evil.

As I’ve mentioned, NM and EF lied, repeatedly, and yet expect me to maintain a perfectly normal relationship with them. They can’t understand why I ignore them and don’t want to be around them. Lying is not kind, and they have no respect for Rule #1: Stop lying, especially to yourself.

Sometimes I know when they’re lying. Sometimes I don’t. I’ve reached the point where I’m choosing the theory that anytime their lips move they’re lying. This is not strictly true, but it’s safer for me. It also saves me the headache of attempting to figure it out.

I work to keep the adversary out of my life, and they keep inviting the snake right back in. Holding hard to God’s grace, for it’s the only thing standing between me and the daily deceptions. Deception sounds so much more civilized, doesn’t it? And by the way, it’s still a lie.

Rule #1: Stop lying, especially to yourself.

There is a peace I can’t explain in not having to keep straight all the lies and not having to manufacture new lies to keep the old lies afloat. I won’t go back.

Embracing the truth is the only way to true peace.

100_3059

Leave a Reply

Categories

