Posted by: Judy | January 31, 2017

Changing routine…

…in order to create a new, more productive, healthier routine. Dealing with PTSD is easier with a consistent daily routine.

In the past, when I’ve attempted to change my routine it’s thrown me into a tailspin. Not a desirably outcome.

Having said that, the current routine is not helping me accomplish the things I want to do. I have to stop pretending that if I just try harder, it will improve. It hasn’t. Rule #1: Stop lying, especially to yourself.

I have a habit (thanks PTSD) of blanking. It’s the only way I know how to describe it. It’s like my brain reboots without my permission and without a “save” to bring me back where I was. It used to be that when I baked, I would gather all my ingredients and move them when I finished. It was frustrating when I’d lose track of where I was in the process and would have to sort things out. Now, I line up the ingredients in order of use. As I use the ingredients, I put them away. Always, without fail. This way, if I blank, I’m able to look at what’s next in line and know where I am in the process.

This past year, I blanked, a lot, but didn’t have a routine established so I could pick up where I left off. I wasted even more time as I struggled to remember where I was in my day. It’s embarrassing to realize how much time I lost struggling to remember something as simple as what day it was.

It’s the end of January, already, and what have I accomplished?

Some reading.

Staying on top of exercising. Go me.

Said yes to invitations.

Improved sleeping.

All good things. However, the writing is pretty much stalled. Not a good thing.

I’ll be honest; I don’t know what to do.

Last night, I tried setting the timer for 45 minutes. That’s how my day is broken up when I do sprints on social media. We report, stretch, whatever, during the 15 minutes before the next 45 minute round. It was too long doing it by myself. I found myself checking the timer after 10 minutes.

So, today, I’m going to break up my at-home-time in 10 minute increments and see what happens. The worse that can happen is that it doesn’t help. Go.

100_3052

Responses

  1. I learned I can do anything for 5 minutes. Dissociation bites. Hugs.

    • Thanks.

  2. I love your determination and persistence. A question I hope you don’t mind my asking–have you tried EMDR? Amazing results with that. Supposed to be of huge help with PTSD?

    • My last therapist did not recommend it. Then again, there were a lot of things he didn’t recommend for me. I’ll check with my sister and see if he said anything to her about it.

      • I’ve experienced it myself. I don’t have PTSD but when going through a rough time in my life, had anxiety in Spain spearhead a very wise therapist recommended this and I’ll be honest-I thought it was crazy at first. But, it really does work.

        • So glad it worked for you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

