Posted by: Judy | January 12, 2017

Scattered, with a promise of showers…

I’ve been quite scattered, for the last year or so. It makes writing a challenge and frankly frustrating. Too often, I look at the blank page and my mind is almost as blank. My goals have whittled down to making it through the day.

Oddly enough, I’m not in as much emotional turmoil. I laugh more. I miss the dog, and it’s okay.

In the past, I’ve been able to dive into books, reading one or two a day. I can’t even concentrate for that long. I spend an unsettling amount of time simply sitting. Then I realize I’ve been sitting doing nothing for an inordinate amount of time. I struggle to gather my wits, and I’m sitting again.

I look in the mirror and see dark circles under my eyes. This is new, in the last few months. Even when my sleeping was much worse, I’ve never had trouble with dark circles before.

Sleep beckons a lot more. If I could, I’d nap twice a day. With all the time I sit zoned out, it wouldn’t take up any extra time. It might actually help me feel better. By the time I think of it, something else has come up that needs to be done.

How am I going to publish another novella in any kind of timely manner if I only add 12 words in a day?

100_3019

Responses

  1. It is well and I believe whatever you set your mind to can be achieved.
    Whatever you feel like doing nothing, that’s when you should do something, yes the exact thing you don’t feel like doing should be done.
    All the best.

    • Thank you for the much needed encouragement. Bless you.

  2. Hugs.

    • Thanks.

  3. So, I’m listening to some podcasts about allowing things rather than forcing them. Which might sound woo-woo when you have a goal, but I’m learning when I tune out I need to just let myself do it. And I come back only to accomplish twice as much in half the time. Something must be happening internally while you sit. Even if you don’t know what it is yet . . .

    • Oh, I do hope so. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

