Posted by: Judy | January 3, 2017

The Word for 2017

2013, the word was Create.

Wow. Did I ever create.

This past year, I continued to create.

2014, the word was Happy.

I want to say I’m happy. I don’t want to lie. I have had happy moments. I know happy is an inside job. I’m going to continue to endeavor to embrace happy. I think maybe I attempted a step out of order or attempted to skip a few steps.

Update: I am happy because I choose to be happy. I’m also sad, angry, hurt, silly, peaceful, intense, joyous, excited, and a myriad of other emotions.

2015, the word is Hope.

Candidkay shared her word: Radiant.

http://candidkay.com/2015/12/29/resolutions-and-such/

Great word. I struggled with what my word would be this year. I debated with Trust, Possible, Inspire, and Prayer, but none felt quite write… they didn’t feel particularly doable… They were’t like Create. Happy was a tough one. I am happier. Hope was another tough one. Not that I haven’t been hopeful, but I didn’t feel like it permeated the year like Create did.

I debated and considered and reconsidered. What do I really want to do better? Gradually, I thought about what I’ve been complaining about lately. I’m easily distracted. I’m behind on my writing, even as I know the stories are there, waiting.

2016, the word is Consistent.

My plan to be consistent didn’t turn out the way I intended. I only managed to write two Holiday, USA novellas. I need two more to complete the anthology. I did turn in “Knight in Disguise” on time, barely, but on time nonetheless. I didn’t consistently lose weight the way I’d hoped. However, I consider myself a success because I did consistently improve.

For this year, I read Melissa’s post over at Genesis 5020 and debated between two words: Grateful and Blessed.

https://5020genesis.wordpress.com/2016/12/30/heavenly-storehouses/

I was reminded that sometimes we need to ask for what God is willing to give, not because He is stingy but because unless we are seeking we often miss what He freely gives and it falls to the wayside. Growing up in an abusive home, opening my hand was too often met with punishment or things I neither wanted or needed.

2017, the word is Blessed.

100_3012

Leave a Reply

Categories

