Posted by: Judy | December 14, 2016

Meme Debunking

I’ve done this one before, but it’s been a while. I keep seeing it, and it keeps annoying me. I need the reminder why I disagree. I’ve learned a few things, clarifying my understanding.

The Greatest Gift you can give anyone is Kindness and don’t forget to be kind to yourself as well.

No.

The Greatest Gift you can give anyone is Truth, especially yourself.

Yes, kindness is important, but it should never be the knee-jerk reaction. I’m learning that the knee-jerk reaction needs to be to think. With lots of practice, it isn’t becoming easier so much as I’m learning to actually do it.

Here’s the problem with the kindness first theory:

There are those who believe that being kind means doing whatever they want.

There are those who believe that being kind means doing what would make others happy, no matter the cost to self.

The first reads it and already believes they’re kind and uses the quote like a whip.

The second reads it and wonders how they can be kinder when they are already kind.

The problem with mine is that there are those who believe the truth is fluid.

Perhaps the problem really lays within the complexity of life. A single thought doesn’t properly encapsulate anything truly useful. There’s only one directive that does:

Love the Lord with all your heart, might, mind, and strength and love your neighbor as yourself. 

Many don’t want that answer. It’s a tough one. I’ve spent most of my life believing it but not really grasping much of any of it. I’m learning. I really am learning.

100_2995

Leave a Reply

Categories

