Posted by: Judy | October 20, 2016

Meme Debunking

The past was never a mistake if you learned from it.

This is magical thinking.

It takes away from the power of learning to be a better person.

At the worst, it allows a horrific violation to be dismissed because the violator learned from it.

At the other end of the scale: I’m allergic to eggs. I attempted to make cake with egg substitute. It was a mistake. The cake didn’t bind and didn’t raise properly. It was a yucky mistake; I learned from it, but it was still a mistake. I learned I can only substitute one egg of two and not two of three either. It was still a mistake. One I won’t make again. I didn’t make additional mistakes by attempting to make the substitution in other baked goods. Learning from it didn’t make it any less of a mistake.

I’ve learned from a lot of mistakes. They were still mistakes. Pretending otherwise is lying to myself. The wonder of rising above base human nature is recognizing a mistake, correcting it, and learning from it to be a better human.

It’s unkind to dismiss the courage required to admit a mistake, learn from it, and grow from it.

100_2947

Leave a Reply

Categories

