Posted by: Judy | October 11, 2016

A writing blog I follow…

Writers in the Storm is a blog I’ve followed for a number of years. Laura Drake is a regular contributor. This time she shared “How a Book Saved My Life.”

http://writersinthestormblog.com/2016/10/your-writing-matters-how-a-book-saved-my-life/

She asked for commenters to share their own life-saving book. My answer:

The Bible saved my life, no doubt. I’ve read it numerous times. Reading it this past year has been a profoundly different experience.

Numerous other books have influenced me for good. Of these, Lord of the Rings is still the one I point to most often. I read it in middle school, one of the few books I chose to read during that time and high school. However, no one else I knew had read it.

Fast forward a few decades. The movies came out. I discovered a whole world of people who loved the work like me. I’m still friends with many of those amazing wonderful people. I’m attending a conference, next year. Some of them wrote fan fiction. They encouraged me. Now, I’m a published author.

100_2937

Leave a Reply

Categories

