Posted by: Judy | September 7, 2016

Follow Up on Food Goals…

34. No more popcorn or Munchies, like no more eggs.

Since making the goal and gifting myself with no eggs, I haven’t eaten a single egg alone. It may come in food, but I haven’t made a fried egg. Not one.

I love popcorn and Munchies and other snacks like them. I love them like I love eggs. However, the difference is that at least eggs have some nutritional value. Popcorn and the like have zip, zero, nil, none, no nutritional value of any kind. Empty calories. Tasty calories but still empty.

If I can give up eggs and almonds because I’m allergic to them, doesn’t it stand to reason I can give up popcorn and the like for the simple reason that my health with thank me for it? Like giving up eggs and almonds. We’ll see how this month goes.

Unlike eggs and almonds, I will allow myself to eat popcorn/chips/etcย elsewhere, out to lunch, at my sister’s. There’s an automatic limit.

One step at a time. I am capable.

100_2896

Responses

  1. I could never give up popcorn. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Yeah, I realized the same thing, which is why I “fine-tuned” the decision. I simply can’t keep it in the house, where I have easy access. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Are you talking about pre-made popcorn or freshly popped?

        • Either. Pre-made popcorn is “an open bag is an empty bag.” Ready to make popcorn says “4 servings per bag” and I eat the whole bag. ๐Ÿ˜› I have it at my sister’s and the movie, but can’t keep it in the house.

          • I eat a whole bucket at the movies and a giant bowl when at home, but the stuff I make at home is less bad for me since I pop it stovetop and use less butter/oil and add fun seasonings. Luckily, once I cook dinner, I’m usually not up to making more food (not that it’s hard, lol) or else I’d eat popcorn every night. I dislike microwave popcorn, so there’s that ๐Ÿ˜‰

            • I have a stovetop popcorn pan on my Wish List, but I’ve forbidden myself from buying it, but I can wish. Evening is my worst snacking time. As to microwave popcorn, I did my usual experimenting, buying a box of everything and taste testing. Most aren’t particularly good, but there are a few I really like. Popcorn, Cheetos, potato chips, pretzels… something about them; I have minimal self control. Best to not tempt myself. My sister’s great about sharing, so it isn’t like I’m completely deprived. ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

