Posted by: Judy | August 31, 2016

Consistent or not

My word for this year is Consistent. I’ve been lamenting that I haven’t been. In eight months I’ve had one full-length novel published, and I’ve self-published one novella. I need to write more if I want to succeed as a writer. I know this. I’m writing every day but not enough.

Hope for the Broken Hearted shared the following meme:

“Note to Self… I must be consistent in the things I do for my spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical well-being. I can’t expect to get where I want to be by doing things only occasionally or only when I feel like doing them.”

It made me step back and stop focusing on what I’m not doing. What am I doing?

My exercise is consistent and improving.

My eating is consistent and improving, though not as much as I’d like.

My sleeping is… consistent? More consistent? It’s been strange lately. Since I’ve been spraying lavender on my feet I’m not taking as many naps. I’m also occasionally sleeping through the night. Maybe it is improving.

Buying a new computer throws any consistency out the window… I take that back. I’m learning to be more consistent in praising God in the storm. Many things work, but one thing after another hasn’t worked.

Bless my consistent sister, she helped me download my photos. Unfortunately, Apple is not consistent in their programs. They’ve changed their photo library. Unfortunately, I haven’t figured out how to actually share photos from my computer. I read an article and the author described it in terms of freeing your photos from prison. Why Apple wants to hold my pictures hostage, I don’t know, but I’m not happy about it.

In the meantime, I’ll share early pictures. I like pictures. I like taking them and sharing them. I’m sad I have all these pretty pictures I can’t share. Putting it in God’s hands; it’s decidedly beyond my comprehension. I’ll also take a trip to the Apple store with pen and paper, probably tomorrow, and see if they can explain it.

RM4_0832This was my Christmas cactus, back in January 2013. Now it’s two plants.

Responses

  1. This is such a great introspective look many should think about, and myself even more so. The quote you have here is something I too need to understand and strive for: consistency ~ “I must be consistent in the things I do for my spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical well-being…” It is a bit strange that a better state-of-life can be so simply stated, but you do this here. Great post and wishing you a wonderful day ahead.

    • Thank you. 🙂

  2. Go you. You are doing better than you think you are. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

