Posted by: Judy | August 24, 2016

Music

Speaking of collections, I frequently fail to mention my collection of music CDs.

Like most children, I started with the radio. I even taped songs off the radio. I owned hours and hours of personally mixed tapes. I listened to the radio to go to sleep. Annoyed NM because the radio would gradually grow louder as the air cleared throughout the night. At least, that’s what I was told.

A few summers were spent sitting on the floor of my room listening to the radio and putting puzzles together. Instead of carpet, I had jigsaw puzzles. Hours and hours, day after day. It was quiet. I was out of the way. Out of sight; out of mind.

I grew up listening to a wide variety of music, from classical to heavy metal, Beethoven to Iron Butterfly. I once had an almost complete collection of Osmond and Donny Osmond albums. I also had Elvis Presley, The Hobbit, Disney, and others I no longer remember. I hung onto my vinyl until I had an extensive collection of CDs, and then I gave them away for a song at a garage sale. I discovered I couldn’t tolerate the background hiss and scratch of vinyl.

Some of my favorite groups, besides the Osmonds, included Bread, Three Dog Knight, Chicago, Carpenters, and numerous others.

Unfortunately, my collections CDs sat, for years, ignored, for a few decades. Maybe I was punishing myself. I don’t know, but no more.

I confess I’m a bit of a music snob, in my own way. Breathy singers are a never. Yeah, all those singers everyone else loved, with their rough voices; I hated them. Fingernails on chalkboard. The exceptions aren’t the artist but particular songs sung by these “lesser” artists. 🙂 There was a time when I did take myself far too seriously in this regard. I’m over it. Doesn’t mean I enjoy listening to the likes of Springstein, Bowie, Dylan, Willie Nelson… no. Just no. Neil Diamond is the closest I come to that rough voice.

The voices I love are “pure” and “clean.” The likes of Josh Groban and Donny Osmond. Yes, Donny still has it. David Osmond is definitely an Osmond. Voices so gorgeous they make me weep. Rick Astley is another one, Julio Iglesias and Dan Fogelberg.

I prefer men over women. I do have a few female artists I enjoy, like Susan Boyle and Natalie Cole.

Yes, if I like an artist, even now, I will buy their CDs.

I’ve dabbled in jazz. A guy I knew who still plays jazz professionally ripped me for liking Kenny G. Definitely a jazz snob. 😀 I broadened my horizons. I still like Kenny G. So there. 😀 However, I concede I discovered other amazing artists I never would have found if I hadn’t been pushed. Not sorry.

I like a variety of instrumentalists, like John Tesh, Jim Brickman, Yanni, David Lanz, and a half dozen others. Mannheim Steamroller is still a favorite. Then there’s Cast in Bronze. Amazing. And The Piano Guys! Love them.

Opera is not one I enjoy. I decided to be adventurous and buy season tickets to the opera. I didn’t do movies often, so I figured it was a fair trade. Never again. An exception: I’ve seen “Yeoman of the Guard” by Gilbert and Sullivan. I was amused but never felt the need to see it a second time. It’s really more an operetta.

Operettas are a whole different ballgame. I saw Cats in London and the original London cast of Les Miserable the first year it was playing. I proceeded to see Cats several more times back in America when it toured. I saw Les Miserable at least a half dozen more times. While I was working for the airlines, I would buy two tickets to the shows, one for me and one for a guest so I didn’t have to go alone. Les Miserable still brings me to tears. We will not discuss the movie, unless you want my honest opinion.

The last few years, I’ve tuned into Christian music. I love not worrying about lyrics. I appreciate the messages, and the sound is reliably good overall. My favorite is Casting Crowns, followed by MercyMe, Michael West, Mike’s Chair, Mandisa, Chris Tomlin, and a dozen others.

I’m featuring favorite songs on my author page on Thursdays. So far, I’ve shared links on YouTube to Maurice Ravel’s Boléro and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Holst’s The Planets is coming up.

Then there are the movie scores! Lord of the Rings, Ladyhawke, The Man From Snowy River, Return to Snowy River, Star Wars, Harry Potter, The Princess Bride, The Natural, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Yes, I love music, and this is only a small sampling.

Funny odd bit of information: My horse loved my singing.

100_2888

Responses

  1. I can totally relate to your story of listening to the radio while putting together puzzles in your room (although I was almost exclusively reading rather than puzzles). Whatever I could do to stay out of my mother’s way.

    I’m pretty sure her “night chearing the air” for sound was baloney. Just sayin’.

    I far prefer male singers to female too. I think it’s the higher voices — and anything sounding shrill reminds me of my mother yelling, I think.

    I’m glad music bring you joy 🙂

    • Yes, invisible was preferable.

      Good point about the higher voices. I hadn’t thought of that.

      Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

