Posted by: Judy | August 23, 2016

Collections…

One of the blogs I follow, Expressions of Me, answered some random questions, one of which was “Do you collect anything?”

https://aerykah.wordpress.com/2016/08/18/just-some-random-questions/

As I began my answer, I realized it was growing rather lengthy, so I decided to answer it here. I collect dishes. Books and other things, too, but those aren’t for this discussion.

As a child, I collected Breyer Horses, model horses. I still have the black ones, a teak one from Thailand I brought home with me, a carved pecan shell one, one of spun glass, ceramic… I should probably photograph them. I gave most of the others to one of my nieces who’s horse crazy, like me. Blessedly, her parents are supportive.

I buy a single place setting. If it only comes in a set of four, I use the others as gifts; give away plates of cookies and the plate doesn’t have to be returned… I should write a blog post about this.

I’m not sure if anyone is really interested in seeing all the patterns, but here are a few:

100_2118

I suspect they were supposed to be serving dishes, but these are my October and November plate and bowl.

100_2134

Christmas. There were more pieces, serving bowls, etc, but these were the ones I chose. After all, there’s only so much space to store things.

I’ve posted a couple of the pieces, little place and pitcher, from the Italian Sunflower design. I have probably a dozen other designs.

I wanted a way to make meals special, especially when there’s no “occasion.”

Responses

  1. I love the Christmas dishes! 🙂

    • Me, too. 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing! I like the red, perfect for holidays, I usually see those type of dishes in blue. Sometimes those “no occasion” special occasions are even better! No sense your pretty things gathering dust when they can make you smile.

    • I have a different pattern in blue. 🙂 Maybe I’ll take pictures of each pattern and share them at random times. 😀

  3. How neat! 🙂 My mom adores those red dishes! She has some blue willow dishes that she really likes, but red is her favorite color. 😉

    • I do love the Christmas dishes. I use them all through December. I have a blue design as well, “Staffordshire Engravings 17th Century.” I’ll take a picture and post if after the new computer is set up. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

