Posted by: Judy | June 23, 2016

Follow Up, from last week, on Food

In rethinking food, I’ve done a major think-outside-the-box. Instead of looking at food at home, I’m looking at my outside options.

First and foremost, I know it’s all mind games. Abusers use mind games to control their victims. Why would it surprise anyone that mind games can be used to overwrite previous games?

A few changes that already work, for now, anyway:

*When grocery shopping, I don’t buy cookies, cakes, popcorn, potato chips, etc, if I reward myself with two specialty desserts from Kneaders. I learned this a few weeks ago. It surprised me. It was easy to go through the grocery store and think in terms of what I needed as opposed to what I wanted, knowing that at the end of my trip, I would stop at Kneaders. I even knew which two desserts I wanted, a tart and a cannoli.

The following week, I talked myself out of going to Kneaders. I bought potato chips and popcorn. However, a bit of good news is that I didn’t eat all the potato chips. I threw away half the bag because I didn’t really want anymore. I threw away some of the popcorn, after I promised myself that the next trip out, I could pick up two desserts. I eat half of each one day and half the next. This time I chose the Key Lime tart and the Chocolate bundt cake. Both were yummy.

Also discovered that my 60-second pumpkin cake is also a good choice. Kneaders has been put on the back burner until I use up the pumpkin puree. I don’t like it molding. Use it or lose it.

Side note: The cannoli is best fresh. πŸ™‚

*Panda Express two-entree meal with a side works out to three meals for me. This is a good option for the end of the week when I’m less likely to have free kitchen time. NM and EF have scheduled places to go the first three days of the week during lunch. A little alone time.

*After the success of eating when I dog sit, I think I’ll continue the practice on days when I probably won’t have alone time. I’ll pack a lunch in the morning, when I’m the only one awake, and take it.

*I finally bought myself two new pairs of walking shoes.Β The last two pairs had holes and the tread was worn almost flat. L.A. Gear and Rally. Not fancy. On sale.

100_3049

Responses

  1. I love a good cannoli πŸ™‚

    • I ate my first there, which is why I wanted another, and it was definitely yummy. πŸ™‚

      • The shells get soggy if you don’t eat them right away, right? I keep hearing good things about Kneaders but we don’t have them out this way 😦

        • Yes, the shell was blah, even after spending only the short drive home in the takeout container. Note to self: Order it in and eat it promptly. πŸ™‚

          Kneaders is new here, so they’re expanding… in more ways than one. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

