Posted by: Judy | June 20, 2016

Sharing a social media post…

Posted on Laurel Hawkes’ FB author page:

I debated what to write and even if I should. A few disturbing posts have appeared on my feed. I usually hide what I find distasteful. However, since the “Christian” man is publicly telling me how I should feel as a Christian, I feel it necessary to refute him publicly. He says that Christians shouldn’t be saddened by what happened in Orlando. He’s entitled to his opinion, but it is only an opinion. I will defend his right to say what he believes, but he does not speak for me. A few misguided “Christians” say the death of sinners is worthy of celebration. Some of them go so far as to quote scripture.

“Man looks on the outward appearance, but Lord looks on the heart.” Judgement of the soul belongs to God.

Jesus Christ, my Savior and Redeemer, taught “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.” We’re all sinners. God doesn’t have a sliding scale on sin. He doesn’t like any of it.

He also taught, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” How is celebrating your neighbor’s brutal murder loving them as yourself?

Murder is breaking one of the Ten Commandments. How can anyone not see the inherent evil in celebrating evil?

I’m as guilty as anyone of applying my standards to others. I’ve undergone some hard lessons in learning to see through another person’s eyes. More than once, I’ve criticize how someone handled a situation only to find myself in the exact same situation and often doing the same thing. I’ve learned to curb my tongue.

God will not judge me by how I measure against others. He doesn’t care how I measure against others. He will hold me accountable for what I do, say, and think. Am I living the truths I’ve learned? Am I obeying His Commandments? Do I love Him with all my heart, might, mind, and strength? Do I love others as myself?

That last one is tough not because of the others but because of myself. I struggle to love myself as God loves me. God shows me love every single day, but because of incorrect lessons learned I don’t always see it. Sadder is that I don’t reflect His love to others as He has commanded.

My heart breaks for those precious lives stolen by a coward who chose evil. I pray for the mourning families and friends.

100_2825

Responses

  1. Ugh, that guy sounds hateful and not at all christian. I’m glad you refuted his post. Although I’m not Christian (raised Catholic — never confirmed), I believe love is love. And that even those who sin deserve love (not that I think homosexuality is a sin because I don’t).

    • It’s scary sharing one’s opinion on a controversial subject. So many are ready and willing to attack. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Judith.

      • It’s especially scary when you’re opposing a person whose opinion is kind of vitriolic. You did great 🙂

        • Exactly. Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

