Posted by: Judy | May 31, 2016

Ginormous Smile

It’s Saturday night, and I returned from an adventure less than hour ago.

My younger brother, SiL, and nieces invited me out to meet the horses they lease. YB picked me up and we met SiL and one niece out there.

The first stop had eight horses, three mamas, three babies, and two geldings. The babies ranged in age from a month to three months. Adorable! I pet all of them, but the babies loved having their rumps scratched, the unreachable itchy spot. My niece invited me to help her groom one of the geldings. Gorgeous animal. I hadn’t forgotten how soothing it was for me, but it was so wonderful to revel in it again.

The next stop was letting a few out and cleaning stalls. Yes, I enjoy cleaning stalls. There’s something about the rhythmic sifting of bedding and ending up with ending up with a tidy stall. My back reminded me I hadn’t done it in a while, but it wasn’t bad.

I came home sweaty, filthy, and happy. It was a wonderful evening.

My sister found this free image of a horse for me.

images

Responses

  1. Equine therapy has a way of making it all feel good again. My sister is looking into ways she can volunteer for an equine therapy camp as a way of allowing her to be around horses again. When you love horses, but can’t afford or don’t have the space to own one, then it seems logical that maybe putting yourself in a position to intentionally be around them might be good medicine. Really glad you had such an enjoyable day with them. 🙂

    • I volunteered for a while. It grew difficult after a few months. Bad days started kicking in more, and I hated being unreliable. I’m hopeful I’ll be able to visit again sometime. I’m still grinning about it. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

