Posted by: Judy | March 3, 2016

Working to be healthier…

One of my nieces decided to issue a health challenge. I decided to participate, as much as I’m able. There are a lot of things I can’t do, so I’m not ALL in. I didn’t add this to my Gift List because it’s short term… and I didn’t think about it until now. πŸ™‚

Here is what I’m doing:

Water intake: 6-8 cups every day. I’m actually pretty good at this. I’ve had trouble with my kidneys my whole life. In the 80s, I landed in the hospital with a kidney infection. I hadn’t been careful about drinking water. The hospital staff told me I’d be out in 24 hours. Three days later, I went home. I promised myself it would never happen again.

Sleep: 7 hours every night. Sunday through Monday be in bed by 11:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday be in bed by midnight. If I have a rough night, I can make up the time with a nap. I’ve been working on this one for a while. I’m hoping this challenge will allow me to focus in a more successful manner.

Healthy eating: More fruits and veggies every day. Adding a fruit and veggie every day would be more for me. I have to be careful. I gave the 5 a day a try, and it didn’t turn out well. I have days when I skip them altogether. The goal for now is to have one fruit and one veggie every day.

Personal goal: A personal goal in addition to the others. Examples: Going to bed every night by 10:00 p.m. for a week, a new fruit or veggie every day for a week. For me, this week, I’m adding wall pushups every day. I was doing pushups before I fell… almost two years ago. I figure wall pushups are a gentle way to restart.

100_2725

Responses

  1. More great, concrete plans πŸ™‚ Go you!

    I’m trying to drink more water too. If you don’t already, it helps to have a special bottle or glass you like dedicated to your water consumption. Mine is a grapefruit pink Camelbak Edy that I try to bring with me most places.

    • I have a pretty crystal pitcher that holds 6 cups and a cup that holds 2.5 cups. The cup has paw prints on it and says “Home where your dog is.” πŸ™‚ If I go through 3 cups I’ve met my goal. The water is actually my easiest goal since I’ve been doing it for years. I’m looking at it in a more positive light, instead of “this will keep me out of the hospital.” πŸ˜€

  2. Oh, I feel your pain on the water intake. I had a kidney stone a few years ago and it was akin to childbirth without a break. Glad you’re diving into healthier habits–the payoff is when you feel great from AM to PM . . .

    • πŸ™‚

    • By the way, I’ll take my kidney infections over your stone any day any time. Ouch.

      • I don’t know about that! Kidney infections can be dangerous, right?

        • They can be. I can never be a kidney donor. I had the infections a lot as a child, so I suppose I don’t think about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

