Posted by: Judy | February 8, 2016

Fascinating Quote…

I found this the other day. I saved it because it impressed me. I haven’t seen it in a long time, tucked away in a folder, but it struck me again.

God would not exert any compulsory means; Satan cannot.

How often I forget.

I remember the popular “the devil made me do it.” It’s an excuse. It’s a lie. I choose. No one else. Yes, plenty of outside forces influence. However, the final choice is always mine. Sometimes, I choose wisely. Sometimes, I don’t. I endeavor to learn from my mistakes. Sometimes, I do. Sometimes, I don’t. Or at least, sometimes it takes me longer than it should.

When I find myself making the same mistake over and over, regardless of my efforts to do right, I’ve discovered I need to look deeper. Sometimes, my effort to do right isn’t the real problem, only a symptom of something else.

I endeavor to eat healthier, to make better choices. My eating isn’t actually the problem, which is why I often fail in my attempts to improve.

The problem is in believing I deserve to feel good.

The problem is in believing I deserve to succeed.

The problem is in believing I am good.

I don’t know how to change those beliefs except to keep practicing healthy self talk.

God will not compel me, and the adversary can’t. Both influence.

Whom will I choose?

I promise to continue to choose God to the best of my ability and to work to improve my ability every single day.

100_2705

Leave a Reply

Categories

