Posted by: Judy | January 20, 2016

Microscope on the Gifts List 5…

5. Be more charitable.

This isn’t about the donating money part. I think that’s one of the easiest ways to be charitable. My income is pretty limited, but I still donate.

The charitable aspect I struggle with is giving my time. I endeavor to give it when asked, but I’m not so good at volunteering. I want to improve that.

I have absolutely no idea how I’m going to go about this.

Maybe I’ll start with why I haven’t donated a lot of time in the past… except that isn’t true. I’ve volunteered for a lot of things, at church, in schools, at conferences… in fact, I tend to ask if I can help in any way wherever I am… I don’t FEEL like I’m charitable.

I don’t donate time on a weekly basis. Why? I did for a while, but it wasn’t long before I was so worn out. I was teaching children sign language in an elementary classroom. I enjoyed it, but part way through I wanted to quit. It felt like such a heavy burden. Even once a month quickly begins to feel like this giant millstone.

Volunteering on the spur of the moment works well for me. I’m feeling good and know I have the energy to make it through the commitment. I don’t volunteer if I’m already struggling health wise.

Do I feel like I’m falling short because I don’t have a regularly scheduled time for volunteering? How stupid is that? I volunteer when and where I’m able. Maybe I need to keep track of when and how I volunteer, this year.

This is one of the feral cats that hangs out around our house. Actually, this one is the most adventurous. She’s also our hunter.

100_2677

Leave a Reply

Categories

