Posted by: Judy | November 19, 2015

Meme Debunking…

This was posted on FB:

If you don’t leave your past in the past, it will destroy your future. Live for what today has to offer, not for what yesterday has taken away.

Maybe it’s a matter of showing up at the wrong time. I’m frustrated with these memes that talk about leaving the past behind. I would love to; however, it travels along with me. It isn’t simply a part of who I am; it has made me who I am.

Yes, I realize that the quote is meant to encourage a person to not live in the past. It’s worded poorly. Sometimes what yesterday took away is for the best. What is on offer today is often a result of what the past has built toward.

A part of me is also a bit weary of the dooms day predictions. The only way to destroy your future is to quit.

The essence of the butterfly effect states that a single, seemingly insignificant event can change the future. Each choice shapes the future. Course corrections, sometimes known as repentance, give us the opportunity to return to a preferred path. Sometimes the path we were on isn’t there anymore. This is not a cause for panic.

If you wonder whether your mission in life is over, consider this: If you’re still here, it isn’t over. Keep moving.

I dread a far more accurate and frightening quote: Those who refuse to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.

I want to learn from my history so I don’t repeat it.

Pretending things weren’t taken away is as damaging as allowing those losses to paralyze us in the past. Neither is healthy.

Healthy is accepting the past, embracing the moment, and anticipating the future.

I want to be healthy.

100_2625

Leave a Reply

Categories

