Posted by: Judy | July 21, 2015

No box…

I like to think of myself as a creative problem solver. When I’d hear the nugget “think outside the box,” I enjoyed responding, “Box? What box?”

In some ways, I’m proud of the person I’ve become as a necessity. Survival has taught me a lot. Perhaps… no perhaps. Sometimes, I’m too proud of my survival skills. Then God sends me a message: You’re doing great; reach deeper.

On Friday morning, I was awake early enough to see Joyce Meyer’s show. She was interviewing another speaker. They talked about how too often we pride ourselves on what we’ve done, i.e., praying every day, studying the Bible every day, doing something we can measure, rather than focusing on “Am I more peaceful?” “Am I more loving?”

I appreciated that they pointed out that the physical things we do are things that help us practice, that teach us the frame of mind needed for receiving love and peace and joy. However, sooner or later, we have to reach beyond the physical practice.

As I watched Joyce, I checked emails and opened Evan Sanders’ post:

http://thebettermanprojects.com/2015/07/16/like-a-virgin-the-secret-to-your-success/

Never in a million years would I have thought of doing what Richard Branson did.

How often do I allow the limitations others see determine my own?

Oh, wait, I’m an abuse survivor and my abusers brutally taught me that they decided what my limits were. I have a choice: Continue to allow what they taught me to hold sway or chose something new.

I am choosing something new.

Responses

  1. You go, woman! 🙂

    • 😀

  2. Yayyy!!!

    • 🙂

  3. Keep going Judy. You’re completely right when you choose your own limits

    • Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

