Posted by: Judy | July 2, 2015

Sharing Coming Home…

I thought about scheduling this for another time, but I can’t shake the feeling it needs to be shared now. The article isn’t long, but it is significant.

Dr. Dee Rajska shared a much needed post on PTSD, guilt and shame:

http://canadianveteransadvocacy.com/comingbackhome/?p=950

The explanation of how the mind works through what happens during a PTSD type event makes sense. This gives me the opportunity to look at guilt and shame differently.

I still hold that guilt and shame are useless if I allow them to hold me back or down. They are useful tools if they are used to help me recognize unhealthy behavior and inspire me to become healthier by changing.

Responses

  1. I found this to be very helpful. I do this, the replaying of events, and in a way, I feel that I’m continuing the cycle of self-abuse. I like what you said in the last paragraph, use them to understand myself and become healthier.

    • I’m not good at it, but I’m working on it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

