Posted by: Judy | May 28, 2015

Interesting quote…

This was posted over at A Writer’s Path:

“Every morning, I jump out of bed and step on a landmine. The landmine is me. After the explosion, I spend the rest of the day putting the pieces together.” -Ray Bradbury

http://ryanlanz.com/2015/04/28/ten-quote-tuesday-38/

This is exactly how too many days feel.

Scott Williams’ post is a great follow up:

http://scott-williams.ca/2015/05/25/heres-your-mulligan/

My life has taken an unexpected turn. I wanted to prove I trusted God to help me meet my deadline. As it turns out, my editor has moved back the book’s due date and release, two months. I’m disappointed in myself. Sort of reminds me of my comfrey seeds that never sprouted and my poor lavender plants that are withering. I can cry and lament my shortcomings, or I can see the wisdom of slowing down and learning to treat myself with more kindness. Maybe even play a little once in a while.

There’s a topic I don’t touch on often. Play. It makes me nervous. Now Scott has me thinking about it.

Responses

  1. ((Judy)) Here’s to being kinder and gentler with ourselves. 🙂

    • ((TR))

  2. On Saturday, I told my husband I was “Going to play in the woods” when I went for a trail run. It was slower than my typical run, but so rewarding to feel like a kid.

    I’ve got four things (yes, counting on my fingers for some bizarre reason as if I need the reminder) that I’m pretty stressed out about right now, and I’m looking for healthy distractions (meaning alcohol is OUT, but it always sneaks into my brain a s a “solution” when I’m stressed). Maybe I’m due for another woodland playdate. Like you said, it’s important to be kind to ourselves.

    • Last night, I accidentally clicked on something I didn’t really want to click on. Instead of falling to pieces like I usually do, I decided to make a healthier choice. I went for a walk and ended up at my sister’s. She listened to what I did and was pretty sure I didn’t cross the final line to causing problems for my computer. Then I came home and called my computer wiz oldest brother, and from another state he talked me through checking the places that might be problematic. What a completely different experience. No bingeing. No crying jag. Not much self-castigation. 🙄 One step forward, and further than I’ve ever gone before. Your play in the woods sounds perfect for you! 🙂 We are learning.

      • That’s awesome progress! Go you! I’m so glad you have supportive siblings 🙂

        • Definitely blessed.

  3. Wow, I love how God totally helped you to meet your deadline by giving you that breathing room! How incredible!!! Hope you are feeling joy today.

    • Thank you! I am. 🙂 It’s lovely to see you here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

