Posted by: Judy | February 26, 2015

Meme debunking rethink…

A couple weeks ago, I debunked “Happiness is the ability to move forward, knowing the future will be better than the past.” ~ Zig Ziglar

This week, I saw this: “Be strong because things will get better. It may be stormy now, but it never rains forever.” ~ My Dear Valentine

It says essentially the same thing, so why does it feel different?

Qualifiers. The first declares things will get better. The second reminds me rain doesn’t last forever. By using the qualifier of rain, I also knows that rain will come again.

At the end of my sister’s post:

http://ptsd-acceptingcopingthriving.com/2015/02/21/what-is-icd/

She includes a quote:

“When your heart is broken you plant seeds in the cracks and you pray for rain.” ~ Andrea Gibson

It gives the other side of the rain: It has benefits.

There are times when the storm in my life forces me to slow down and evaluate. More than once, it has stopped me in my tracks from pursuing somethings that wasn’t in my best interests.

I’m grateful I live in the place I do. We essentially have sunshine 365 days a year, with the occasional odd day of rain. Rarely do we have a whole day without sunshine peeking through. We’ve had a few in the last months, and it’s quite strange. Our typical weather pattern comprises storms rolling in and out or at least in a patchy pattern…

Actually, my life is the opposite of our weather pattern… I wonder if there’s any connection… yeah, welcome to my world of attempting to create patterns. I should know better. Some things are not connected, such as a child being punished because the parent blames the child for something the child didn’t do. (Something with which I’m familiar.) It created magical thinking: If I only did everything right, it wouldn’t happen again. Only it did happen again because it had nothing whatsoever to do with me or my behavior.

My sprained ankle, the most recent accident, forced me to slow down. Slowing down gives me time to rest and think. I had no choice but to prioritize what I needed to do. Funny how much stuff I thought I had to do but didn’t when push came to shove.

I confess I was surprised by how much my attitude soared once I was certain I hadn’t actually broken anything. Anyone else, I’d suggest they see their doctor. For me, I don’t respond to anesthesia or pain medication. Muscle relaxant, yep, that works. Blessedly. However, even that didn’t last as long as anticipated. Funnily enough, the right antibiotic works like magic. I have a weird body. I’m okay with that.

The problem?

I hated my body so much for so long I didn’t take proper care, let alone bother to truly become acquainted until I was home from Thailand. Years of acne cleared up while I lived there. The common explanation for it was milk, except I drank milk while I was in Thailand. The one thing I did not have access to for over sixteen months was whole grains.

After I returned home, the acne returned. I blamed milk along with everyone else. Whole grains were good for you. Not for me…

Wow… I never realized how important the storms of life are, and here I’ve been wishing them away. Some storms should be left behind as quickly as possible, while others should be noted and examined. Still others, it’s okay to welcome them, such as a friend starting a new adventure that takes them far away. You’ll miss them, but you don’t want them to miss out on a great opportunity. It’s okay to be sad sometimes.

What was done to me by abusers needs to be left behind, but I need to examine them to understand how they affected me. I don’t want to drag along any of the mud into my shiny new future, unless it’s being used to plant seeds that will brighten my life and the lives of those I touch.

Responses

  1. That quote I found because of Michael Provost, the wonderful photographer that combines amazing pictures and quotes on Facebook.

    • Thanks ((Ruth)) and Michael Provost for sharing his gift.

  2. I’m always looking for patterns too. Still trying to make sense of a life that doesn’t make sense. Rains can cause growth and new beginnings. Just need to survive the storm

    • Sometimes surviving the storm is the greatest act of courage. There will be those who say, “You come through stronger.” Sometimes, you come through battered and torn, but you learn. If nothing else, you learn you’re able to survive through horrific events.


Leave a Reply

Categories

