Posted by: Judy | February 11, 2015

With PTSD in the news…

…I think it’s important to debunk some PTSD myths, thanks to my sister:

http://ptsd-acceptingcopingthriving.com/2015/02/09/9-myths/

I find it interesting that I post quotes about PTSD all the time on my FB page, and yet many of my friends still know nothing about PTSD.

It seems that narcissism is the same way.

Why this baffles me, I don’t know. I know people generally prefer to remain ignorant rather than deal with unpleasant topics.

I’m reminded of one of my visits with my second counselor. I told her about an incident where I lost my temper, stopped, and sorted out the real reason I was angry.

My counselor gaped. “You self analyze.”

“Doesn’t everyone?”

“No. Most people don’t.”

“How do they learn from their experiences?”

“They don’t.”

Wait… what? “Really?”

Another time, she complimented me on doing my homework, on time, every week. “Doesn’t everyone?”

“No.”

“What’s the point of coming here, if they’re aren’t going to do their homework?”

I decided that perhaps they want it to look like they’re doing something.

I’m a mess in so many ways, and yet, I’m doing so many things right. I’m working to change, to become a better person. I don’t expect it to happen magically. I know improving requires concentrated work and effort.

I forget that most of the world doesn’t operate this way.

Mind boggling.

Responses

  1. Indeed, there are not as many people who are curious about themselves and other people. You are doing so many things right.

    • Thank you, TR. God’s blessed me with a lot of wonderful people to help me along the way.

  2. Thanks for this. I feel the same way as you write:
    “I’m a mess in so many ways, and yet, I’m doing so many things right. I’m working to change, to become a better person. I don’t expect it to happen magically. I know improving requires concentrated work and effort.”
    When I was to my psyclog the other week I felt so grateful when I went home. My life is a mess, but I’m already doing a lot of things right. I’m working very hard for a change, and I’m motivated because I want to stand on my own feet. I don’t want to depend on thoughts planted in my by my Narc, who I left.
    God bless you my dear blog-friend

    • Good for you! And God bless you, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

