Posted by: Judy | February 9, 2015

Noodling out the Jesus Diet…

It’s a book I’m reading by Robin Merrill. I’m not saying I’m recommending it. I wanted to share quotes that caught me and thoughts that surfaced as I read. It’s a short book.

“…my physical health depended fully on my spiritual health.”

I’ve always believed this, but I haven’t figured out how to coordinate the two.

Pretending like my weight is no big deal is not working… because it isn’t true.

Rule #1 Stop Lying, especially to myself.

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” Ephesians 6:12

I know that eating is my method of choice, especially once I threw away the pills. I knew then I’d made the decision that suicide was not an option; however, eating is still one I struggle to wrap my mind around. NM repeatedly assured me that being overweight would end my life early. So far, she’s wrong. Why would I want to prove her right?

The problem lies in the fact that eating is not something one can simply stop, unlike drugs, alcohol, or smoking. I’ve often reflected that my weight loss is all in my head. I never really made the spiritual connection before. It’s difficult. I have an abiding faith in God, so I’ve always felt like my spiritual life was pretty healthy, all things considered. If I admit there’s a connection between my weight and my spiritual health, then I have to admit there’s a problem with my spiritual health…

Actually, I know this is true. I’ve shared here my struggle with forgiving myself… maybe not in those words. They’re true.

Yes, I do condemn myself. In fact, I’ve mentioned before the time I asked my counselor about my struggle with spending too much time in pity parties. He asked me to verbalize a typical pity party. I gave him a quick example. He shook his head. “You don’t spend enough time in self-pity to constitute a party; you dive straight into self-condemnation. Not the same thing at all.”

I’m still working on releasing self-condemnation.

Sidetrack…

“This isn’t a diet. It’s a lifestyle.” I hate that phrase. So many diets dive into talking about eating whole grains, which I can’t, or not eating grains at all, which I won’t. Eat more veggies and fruits; my digestive tract doesn’t respond well to either. Am I unreasonable? Or have I worked so hard for so long to find what I am able to eat that yes, I’ve become a bit persnickety about being told I’m eating all wrong.

I’m not eating all wrong. I’m simply not eating as well as I’d like.

Back to the book…

I like that she states that it is a diet, but she sees it as an honor rather than a negative. I like that.

Her experience at the used book store is hilarious. She’s right. People don’t want the old diet books; they want the new one… maybe this will work, finally, because none of the others have.

I was concerned when she said that she didn’t need anything but the Holy Spirit; however, she clarified that God sends teachers. The important thing to remember is that whatever we learn should be backed by the Holy Spirit.

She mentions having had a health coach, who was helpful but human. Some people may find one helpful. Robin chose the Holy Spirit because he’s available 24/7 and free. He’s also willing to teach the same lesson over and over.

Why did I never think to ask God to help me make decisions, one at a time?

Granted, I didn’t want to be a pest. I also believe that God gave me a brain and expects me to use it. However, how often has He gently reminded me that there are things I never learned?

He has been offering to patiently teach me, and I’ve been brushing Him off not wanting to be a bother.

How it must break His heart.

1. Read a scripture rather than stuff my mouth.

2. Pray every I time I eat anything.

3. Exercise.

I also need to recognize that my eating and spending habits are intertwined.

Music is a tool I don’t use often enough.

Acknowledge the lies and call them what they are.

It’s an easy, quick read. Reading isn’t the point. It’s the doing. I wouldn’t recommend this book for everyone, but God helped me find it at a point when I think I’m ready for it.

I do have to remind myself that part of the mind/body struggle is that food was probably the first thing to which I said, “No. No more.” I’ve long recognized it’s one of the few things over which I have total control… the one thing to which I could ‘safely’ say, “Yes.”

This is going to be a slow start process…

You know what? I’ve actually already started, a long time ago. An example is when I bought 18 different kinds of chocolate bars at the grocery store and taste tested. I love Lindt; it has a rich, buttery flavor. It’s a lovely treat, once in a while. I love Whitman’s Sampler chocolate covered caramels; caramel and chocolate, ‘nough said. I love Dove chocolate, milk and dark; the dark is satisfying, and I never feel a need to binge on it.

I’ve lists of foods I like but don’t love, and I’m not tempted by them, like cheesecake. I prefer black angus beef. I prefer angel hair pasta.

I need to be more present when I’m eating and when I’m shopping for the food I’ll eat during the week. I also need to practice choosing something other than stuffing food in my mouth. It’s going to be interesting.

Responses

  1. You reminded me about how my grandmother would put Whitman’s Samplers in the “junk box” she would give us at Christmas time. Usually with a bank desk calendar and other small goodies. Happy memory.

    • I’ve always loved that they label their chocolates. Surprises in my chocolate are rarely happy. 😀 What a lovely memory.


Leave a Reply

Categories

