Posted by: Judy | January 13, 2015

First Meme to go…

I appreciate everything Darlene Ouimet is doing for survivors. She runs a FB page based on her book Emerging From Broken. I have her tagged for notifications because she uplifts me every day.

The other day she posted the entire quote by Audrey Hepburn:

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”

The new popular meme is: Happy girls are the prettiest girls.

This was my reply:

I’ve come to hate this quote. I’m not pretty. Severe acne scarring isn’t pretty. My mother told me men don’t marry women with a face as scarred as mine. I have no control over this. I struggle with depression, like a lot of survivors. I work every day to keep from sinking into despair. Depression is a better choice than uncontrollable rage. Depression is not a happy state, so according to the quote I’m ugly. I’ve reached the point where I’m learning to trust God sees my heart and sees the beauty there. My emotional state sometimes feels ugly, but that doesn’t make me ugly. I’m working to rise above the ugliness. When I pin it all on being happy I set myself up to fail and cheat myself out of the wealth of emotions. I’ve seen people in mourning who displayed an uncommon beauty.

Responses

  1. I have read things about the superiority of joy (spiritual exuberance) over happiness (outward exuberance), or that the goal in life is better fulfillment than happiness. And of course, true beauty is in the eye of the beholder. It would be a shallow thing to see only one’s outward appearance either physically or emotionally.

    • There is the first impression beautiful, and then there is that enduring beauty. I think the most beautiful people are those who appear to have a light inside them.

  2. I’m pretty sure I remember that Audry Hepburn had an eating disorder that partly arose out of fears she developed during WW2. So, I immediately raised my eyebrows at her quote discussing laughter as a calorie burner.

    Your mother idea terrible person for saying what she said to you, valuing appearances over inner beauty. Hugs.

    • Interesting about Audry Hepburn.

      (((Judith)))


Leave a Reply

Categories

