Posted by: Judy | December 8, 2014

Re-thinking food…

Scott Williams shared an interesting post about the power of thought:

http://scott-williams.ca/2014/11/28/happy-wednesday/

I’ve stated that I never did drugs, alcohol, or nicotine. My drug of choice has always been food. Better yet, or worse as the case may be, you can’t go cold turkey off of food. This gives one the built in excuse that you can’t give it up.

Scott’s information gives me the opportunity to rethinking how I deal with food. It starts in my head first. I knew this, but Scott’s blog helped me clarify the chain of events from thinking to eating.

I still want to stop using food as a punishment and celebrate food instead. This is probably a good time to go over what happened over the holiday. Yes, I overate. No, it wasn’t as bad as it has been in the past. I ate too much, but I didn’t eat as much as I wanted to. I didn’t try everything simply because it was there. When I went back for seconds, I chose only what I really wanted instead of doing a little bit more of everything.
Having said all that I’m heavier than I’ve ever been in my life. I’m disappointed in myself.
I want to celebrate food, not abuse it. I know what eating healthy is, and there’s no excuse to not do so.
Abusing myself with food is not celebrating.
Responses

  1. Interesting article. HALT does do a number on me and food keeps me going. I believe you are right time to rethink food.

    • Good to recognize what works and what doesn’t. I have to remember that what works for others may not work for me. This is not a flaw.

  2. Reblogged this on Scott Williams and commented:
    Poignant reminder for this season…

    • Thanks for sharing, Scott. I hope it helps others.

  3. I recently discovered a new blog (I think through a facebook article?) by a life coach guy named James Clear, and his email newsletter today was interesting – about goals, and how maybe deciding NOT to set goals can actually help us achieve what we want. It’s one of those blogs that requires you to sign up with your email address to access the content. Those always bug me on a very basic level, since I hate being marketed to death and don’t really like the idea of self-promotional blogs, but I’ve been finding some of his stuff inspiring, so I thought I’d mention him.

    You can find him by searching James Clear on google. Be prepared to receive an influx of email, though. But also some good ideas about self-discipline and changing habits, and increasing our ability to define what we really want in life. If you go to his website (and sign up), you can click on the tab marked Articles to find the one titled “Forget about setting goals”.

    • Thanks, ntexas99, for doing the homework. I like the idea of making no goals. I’ve had some success with it, but not consistent, lasting success. Maybe it’s a combination of things.

  4. I’d forgotten about the acronym HALT. But I do think I use it pretty frequently when I’m going into what I know will be a stressful situation. When I feel the anxiety ramp up, I try to identify what is bothering me, and hen I can set up some sort of escape plan if when I’m in the situation I feel like it’s getting to be too much. Luckily I have supportive friends and family who help me if I let them know that I’m anxious and need to get away for a recoup.

    Food really is a tough one because we have to eat, and finding the line of when to stop it very difficult.

    • I think a huge help is having a good support system. Starting on the road is the most difficult because that support system isn’t in place, yet. I’m building one, slowly but surely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

