Posted by: Judy | November 24, 2014

Posted last week…

…on FB, but I wanted to remember to explore it.

http://ptsd-home.ca/ptsd-in-children/

When I posted the link on neglect I thought I’d already posted this link. Perhaps it was best I didn’t find it until this past weekend. I needed time to process.

My sister shared this.

I skimmed the list the first time. I was uncomfortable. I didn’t read it again until I prepared this post.

A child with PTSD that is unaddressed becomes an adult with PTSD. I’m not sure I know how to live any other way.

Responses

  1. Maybe the answer is PTSD is an acceptable way of living when we learn to work with it instead of against it?

    • I can live with that… 🙄

  2. From my perspective, PTSD is another way of saying that our bodies and minds are experiencing the echoes of trauma in a way that can interrupt our ability to live a peaceful and productive life. People that struggle with PTSD end up searching out ways to minimize the effects, while attempting to heal some of those past memories. My experience has been that although it can be a very uncomfortable way to live, that eventually, given enough time, the possibility exists that PTSD will fade away, and there may even be a day when it is no longer such a dominating factor in our lives. It’s hard to imagine such a day, especially when we are troubled by the ongoing effects of PTSD, but we hold on to the hope of a tomorrow that is a celebration of freedom. We all deserve to know peace. Every one of us.

    • I must admit most of those things on the list have faded. Some are gone completely, while others simply don’t happen as often. Still others I continue to work on handling better. Improvement.

      • Just after leaving the comment on your blog, I went searching for a little notebook that I kept a while back while attending a PTSD support group (several years ago), and the first thing on the page was this:

        “Who needs external attacks when you can decimate yourself so effectively? Refocusing my energy to ignore the negative conditioning is worth the effort. Eventually, the negative will fade away, finally leaving room for the truth. The truth is where you will find your strength.”

        and below that, this quote:

        “What the dew is to the flower,
        Gentle words are to the soul.”

        quote attributed to a collection of songs gathered by Alma McGill Stoll, while living amongst the Shakers, as part of her Shaker Song Discoveries

        • Those are lovely quotes! Thank you for sharing them. ((ntexas99))

  3. I do dissociation and detachment like it’s my job. Not fun. A lot of people have noted that I don’t seem to have any self-pity, but I think it’s a function of my PTSD. In order to be kinder to myself, I have to think of myself as a separate entity from myself, as if I am dealing with a friend or even an unknown child who I would treat better than I treat myself. Mostly when I connect to my emotions at all, it’s anger/rage and lots of sadness (which I find harder to feel than anger).

    • I don’t know about you, but I prefer anger over sadness. Anger feels more powerful, something a victim doesn’t feel. It took a long time to learn the difference been controlling and healthy self-control. Still learning.

      • Exactly! Anger does feel less helpless (and hopeless). That’s probably why cornered animals react to violently when they are afraid too.

        • Good point.

  4. Thank you for sharing, I will have to come back to it (for me), I know I struggled with some items on the list. When I went through it, I realized that this could be my father. I think he suffers from it because every night he has nightmares where he is screaming and how we could never have a conversation – which something my therapist asked me in my last session – how was communication with your father (outside of daily practical stuff) and whenever I would try and talk to my father about anything deeper than daily life he couldn’t speak and instead would make a noise (sort of like an animal). I hadn’t thought about that until now and made the connection until reading this. I’ll have to give this a lot more thought. xx

    • You’re welcome. I’ve been taking my time with it. Read a little; take a break; read a little more. ((TR))


Leave a Reply

Categories

