Posted by: Judy | November 10, 2014

Anyone home?

I’ve spent the weekend allowing myself to socialize and read and not much else. Finishing a writing project, be it a manuscript or edits, leaves me mentally scattered. I often don’t allow myself to regroup but simply dive back into work. This time, I’ve given myself two days. Today, I’m diving back in. I’m hoping the two days was enough. Funny. I’m working on the tenth book, and I still haven’t worked out a routine. From Funny Cat Photos widget:

509077_1

Responses

  1. Sounds more like your writing routine is constantly evolving, because you recognize that some things had quit working, or that you saw the potential to improve upon the existing schedule. I can only imagine how hard it must be to maintain the delicate balance between the working aspect of writing, while still trying to foster the creative side of the equation. If it’s no fun, then it becomes nothing more than going through the motions. Deadlines and schedules don’t leave much room for daydreaming or star-gazing or socializing, (which allow your brain to relax and unwind).

    Two days off is better than no days off, I suppose. Good luck as you dive back in on the tenth installment. By the way, ten is a pretty impressive number. Just sayin’ πŸ™‚

    • I don’t know why it’s difficult to remember that writing isn’t like dictation. With my dictation, I sit down and do it. Writing… I sit and think, let my mind wander, read for inspiration and relaxation, so much time is spent NOT actually writing. Difficult to properly schedule. Thanks. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

