Posted by: Judy | October 17, 2014

Good News Friday…

My sister shared leaves and pinecones from her trip. Smell so good!

Harry Potter week and watching with BIL’s dog in the middle of the day. A bit of fun. I was amazed by JK Rawlings world-building. It’s actually why I ended up liking the Twilight Series. Stephanie Meyer’s “The Host” impressed me, again, with her world building. I don’t care of first person point of view, but “The Host” couldn’t be written any other way.

The sunrises and sunsets, this week, have been spectacular.

Taking care of BIL’s dog, I’m enjoying the time with her.

My meal time, instead of being a nightmare, is a game I’m playing by my own rules and having an enjoyable time of it. Wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to say that, but making it a celebration and an adventure has been a gift.

What was something good in your week?

Responses

  1. Sharing leaves and pinecones with you.

    • Thanks ((Ruth))

  2. Sounds like you’re in a good place 🙂

    • Yes, I am, thoughtsalone. A change of perspective is an amazing gift.

  3. I’m going to forgive you for liking Twilight. I’m sure you’re relieved to hear that 😉

    • LOL! I hated Twilight but read it because a couple of my nieces loved it, and I wanted to be able to talk about it with them. I fell in love with Meyer’s ability to take an old, tired, predictable genre and re-create it in a fresh way. Have I redeemed myself? 😛

      • I think I can’t get past the crappy writing and the terrible message it had for young women and it’s idea of “romance”. I can see why the world building would interest you. I’m a big fan of vampire/supernatural stories as well as romance. But I look to Buffy the Vampire Slayer as my favorite example. Or even Anne Rice, although I haven’t read her in decades.

        World building is definitely tough, though. I used to not think about it when I was young and writing, but now it intimidates me.

        • Yes, the romance is unhealthy. I also don’t want to tackle world building. I have trouble enough keeping my Regency world, vintage, and contemporary worlds straight. 🙂

  4. Don’t bonk me on my head, but I’ve never read, explored, or watched Twilight, in any shape, form, or fashion. However, one of my sisters was particularly enamored of the whole phenomenon, so I gifted her with a Robert Pattinson poster (which I just had to google to make sure I got the name right). She wore the t-shirts, read the books, watched the movies, and bought the DVD’s. As for me, I’m completely in the dark about the whole thing, and I’m okay with that. I’m just not much for the romance and vampire genre, in general, so I didn’t expect it would tickle my fancy.

    However, as you know, I do love the art of word-building. I’ve even considered exploring the whole Fifty Shades thing, just for the experience of seeing how it was constructed, but can’t quite bring myself over the threshold of going down that path, even in the name of research. 🙂

    • It wasn’t until I read Book 4 of the Twilight series that I appreciated it, when all the world-building settled into place. One of my nieces was Team Edward (the vampire) and one was Team Jacob (the wolf shapeshifter). I was Team Jacob; I’ll always choose the dog. 🙂 Once I made it fun, I enjoyed it more.

      50 shades is poorly written (friends have shared snippets online) and incredibly unhealthy. Serious counseling needed there.

      I worry about anyone who takes anything too seriously.

      Promoting my boss, I like the sci-fi romance of Gail R. Delaney. She writes futuristic.

      Favorite world builder: JRR Tolkien, followed by CS Lewis. 🙂

  5. I finally got my residence card renewed, it took longer because of a mix up and this week I got it! 🙂

    • Woohoo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

